Services will change your BRYTER experience: Instead of seeing a Modules list, you will see all Services that group modules that work in conjunction and constitute one use case.
We have collated and categorized the most common questions below. If you don't find an answer to your question, please do not hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager or click 'Submit Request'.
Can I add a description to a Service, similar to the Module Summary, to add more details?
Not yet. Adding further information to Services that are displayed to the collaborators or can help Admins to get more context will likely become available in future iterations of Services.
Can I copy a Service?
Yes. In the settings of a service, you can duplicate a Service. This will create a copy of the service including all its modules and case databases.
Services and Modules - What happens when I move a Module?
Do collaborators come too?
Yes. All collaborators on the Module will be retained in the new Service.
Will the Module I moved disappear from the original Service?
Yes. The Module will not appear in the original Service any longer.
Is a copy made?
No. Moving one Module to another Service won't automatically result in a copy of the module. If you want to retain the original Module in the original Service consider duplicating it first before moving the duplicated Module to another Service.
Does moving Modules affect Module stats?
No. The stats section of your Module will not be affected.
What happens to Modules (and in the future, databases) when a Service is deleted?
They will be deleted. Deleting a Service is an irreversible action. If a Service collaborator choses to delete the Service in the 'Settings', they will need to confirm this action to circumvent accidental deletion. Only typing in the exact title of the Service will allow a collaborator to delete the Service after clicking on 'Delete this service and all its data'.
Can I only use Redirect Results for modules in the same Service?
No. Redirect Result can be used like you do today and you can still redirect from one module 1 in Service A to another module 2 in Service B. This should however only be rarely the case since module 1 and module 2 should likely be in the same Service.
Collaborator and permission management
Do all collaborators in a service have the same level of access?
Yes. All Service collaborators will have access to all modules within the same Service.
If one author adds two Modules to a Service, but one module has fewer or other collaborators than the other module, what happens in the Service?
All Modules in a Service always have the same Service collaborators. Moving the Module 'Example' from one Service A to another Service B with different collaborators might result in some collaborators of Service A that are not collaborators in Service B losing access. All Service collaborators in Service B will now have full access to the newly added Module 'Example' but you would need to manually add users of Service A to Service B.
Will the Modules overview change in the admin console?
Yes. In the Admin console, the Modules list will be replaced with a list of Services.
Integrations and case databases
Will Services affect databases or integrations?
No. Your databases and integrations will not be affected by Services. In the next weeks, case databases will be moved to their Service. A good rule of thumb for moving modules to one Service is actually their interaction with one associated database: Is one of your modules writing into a database and another module reading or updating the entries within the very same database? These two modules should be moved to the same Service and access the database within this Service.
What happens to my existing Modules?
Each Module will be 'wrapped' into a Service of the same name. All your existing Modules are still available and can be opened after clicking on the Service of the same name.
Can I reverse to the Module overview?
No. Services are here to stay and will enable you to create more valuable use cases and build better and more purposeful modules. They will also lay the foundation for new features that will be introduced in the near future.
What Modules should be grouped in a Service?
Only modules that are part of the same workflow or process. Services should not be the place to 'collect' all HR or procurement or document generation modules. Modules within a Service should rather be part of the same use case or workflow, for example, a Vacation Requestor module and Vacation Approval module make up the Service 'Vacation Assistant'. Find more info here.
What happens if two authors are simultaneously moving the same module to different Services
The first move 'wins'. True simultaneity is impossible, so one move will always occur milliseconds sooner than the other. The first move would thus transfer the module to the Service whereas the would have no impact and result in an error message displayed to the second author.
Can I move my case database into a Service?
Yes. If your Customer Success Manager has activated databases, you can now add your databases to the correct service and can only create new databases within a Service.