Note on legacy behavior: 'Service' renamed to 'Application'
What previously was called Services within the BRYTER platform is now renamed to Applications making it more self-explanatory and convenient for our customers.
Further, Service Frontends are now referred to as Publish Applications.
Applications will change your BRYTER experience: Instead of seeing a Modules list, you will see all Applications that group modules that work in conjunction and constitute one use case.
We have collated and categorized the most common questions below. If you don't find an answer to your question, please do not hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager or click 'Submit Request'.
Can I add a description to an Application, similar to the Module Summary, to add more details?
Not yet. Adding further information to Applications that are displayed to the collaborators or can help Admins to get more context will likely become available in future iterations of Applications.
Can I copy an Application?
Yes. In the settings of an Application, you can duplicate an Application. This will create a copy of the application including all its modules and case databases.
Applications and Modules - What happens when I move a Module?
Do collaborators come too?
Yes. All collaborators on the Module will be retained in the new Application.
Will the Module I moved disappear from the original Application?
Yes. The Module will not appear in the original Application any longer.
Is a copy made?
No. Moving one Module to another Application will not automatically result in a copy of the module. If you want to retain the original Module in the original Application consider duplicating it first before moving the duplicated Module to another Application.
Does moving Modules affect Module stats?
No. The stats section of your Module will not be affected.
What happens to Modules (and in the future, databases) when an Application is deleted?
They will be deleted. Deleting an Application is an irreversible action. If an Application collaborator chooses to delete the Application in the 'Settings', they will need to confirm this action to circumvent accidental deletion. Only typing in the exact title of the Application will allow a collaborator to delete the Application after clicking on 'Delete this Application and all its data'.
Can I only use Redirect Results for modules in the same Application?
No. Redirect Result can be used like you do today and you can still redirect from one module 1 in Application A to another module 2 in Application B. This should however only be rarely the case since module 1 and module 2 should likely be in the same Application.
Collaborator and permission management
Do all collaborators in an Application have the same level of access?
Yes. All Application collaborators will have access to all modules within the same Application.
If one author adds two Modules to an Application, but one module has fewer or other collaborators than the other module, what happens in the Application?
All Modules in an Application always have the same Application collaborators. Moving the Module 'Example' from one Application A to another Application B with different collaborators might result in some collaborators of Application A that are not collaborators in Application B losing access. All Application collaborators in Application B will now have full access to the newly added Module 'Example' but you would need to manually add users of Application A to Application B.
Will the Modules overview change in the admin console?
Yes. In the Admin console, the Modules list will be replaced with a list of Applications.
Integrations and case databases
Will Applications affect databases or integrations?
No. Your databases and integrations will not be affected by Applications. In the next weeks, case databases will be moved to their Application. A good rule of thumb for moving modules to one Application is actually their interaction with one associated database: Is one of your modules writing into a database and another module reading or updating the entries within the very same database? These two modules should be moved to the same Application and access the database within this Application.
What happens to my existing Modules?
Each Module will be 'wrapped' into an Application of the same name. All your existing Modules are still available and can be opened after clicking on the Application of the same name.
Can I reverse to the Module overview?
No. Applications are here to stay and will enable you to create more valuable use cases and build better and more purposeful modules. They will also lay the foundation for new features that will be introduced in the near future.
What Modules should be grouped in an Application?
Only modules that are part of the same workflow or process. Applications should not be the place to 'collect' all HR or procurement or document generation modules. Modules within an Application should rather be part of the same use case or workflow, for example, a Vacation Requestor module and Vacation Approval module make up the Application 'Vacation Assistant'. Find more info here.
What happens if two authors are simultaneously moving the same module to different Applications
The first move 'wins'. True simultaneity is impossible, so the one move will always occur milliseconds sooner than the other. The first move would thus transfer the module to the Application whereas the would have no impact and result in an error message displayed to the second author.
Can I move my case database into an Application?
Yes. If your Customer Success Manager has activated databases, you can now add your databases to the correct Application and can only create new databases within an Application.