If you want to make large experimental changes to your module/service or you want to create another version for a different client, it is a good practice to duplicate this module or entire service first before making changes.
Whenever you duplicate modules or an entire service, all duplicates will not be published. If you are duplicating a module within a service, all service collaborators will have access. If you are duplicating an entire service, the modules in the service are all not published and no collaborators are copied over.
Duplicating a module
Duplicating a service